Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Front suspension top mounts

  1. #1
    User
    CHIPPYB's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    116
    Drives
    Astra gsi
    Thanks
    4
    Likes
    0

    Wink Front suspension top mounts

    Evenin all - I need to change the front suspension strut top mount on my mk3 GSI (1997 phase 2) and was wonderin if it was possible to do this without undoing the bottom of of strut from the hub / steering etc as looks a right pain in the rs. I have got spring compressors etc to use so wanted to know if anybody has done this by undoing the top of the strut from the car then jacking up the front end to allow anuff clearance to swap over.

    Cheers

  2. # ADS
    MK3OC Ads

    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    User
    Sportstr@'s Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sheppy/kent
    Posts
    762
    Drives
    RED mk3 2.0 sport ecotec
    Thanks
    7
    Likes
    0
    Urm.......no not realy mate as you need the whole unit away from car to cary this out
    phase 2 sport in flame red gone but still on mk3oc

    now drivin another phase 2 sport in black...twin powerflow back box lowered 35mm all round...more to come

  4. #3
    Webmaster
    Alex's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    30,822
    Drives
    Astra GSi LET
    Thanks
    445
    Likes
    31
    Not really as it won't drop below the height of the wing so space would be non-existant by the time you've got the spring compressers on
    Gold/Black 2-Tone, C20LET, 4 Pots, Black 18's, Harnesses, 266.7 bhp, 333.7 lb/ft torque


  5. #4
    User
    Joicey's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spennymoor
    Posts
    66
    Drives
    "K" plate Astra GSI 16v
    Thanks
    3
    Likes
    0
    i took the strut off when i did mine, as alex said very limited space to do it within the arch

  6. #5
    User
    CHIPPYB's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    116
    Drives
    Astra gsi
    Thanks
    4
    Likes
    0

    Smile

    Ok cheers - Have to get my wooly jumper on and get to work

  7. #6
    User
    Sportstr@'s Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sheppy/kent
    Posts
    762
    Drives
    RED mk3 2.0 sport ecotec
    Thanks
    7
    Likes
    0
    Wooly jumper....you need waiders down my way and a ledge abbout a foot tall half my road is flooded!
    phase 2 sport in flame red gone but still on mk3oc

    now drivin another phase 2 sport in black...twin powerflow back box lowered 35mm all round...more to come

  8. #7
    User

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Posts
    803
    Drives
    Astra G 1.8 CDX Estate, Astra G 1.6 LPG Elegance Estate, Zafira Design CDTI 120
    Thanks
    52
    Likes
    0
    You'll need spring compressors and to undo the arb mount, but yes it is doable on the car.

    This is for a Cavalier, but I've done MK3 Astras much the same way.

    http://77.96.230.10/sytemsandsoftwar.../topmounts.htm
    How Tos
    Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  9. #8
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    I have yet to see this being done without removing. But to be honest, taking a strut out is not really all that difficult.

  10. #9
    User
    tintin's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,246
    Drives
    No longer the Phoenix
    Thanks
    41
    Likes
    4
    Doodle, did both of mine yesterday. Deffo strut out.
    Honoury Member of the MIG South Coast Posse

  11. #10
    Western Co'Ordinator
    scooby's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Worcester, Midlands
    Posts
    1,983
    Drives
    Astra GSi P2 V6, Supra TT, Vectra
    Thanks
    13
    Likes
    0
    Ive done them with the strut on before but its more fiddley so time wise your no better off. Just take the strut off and do them

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •