Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: In-hose thermostat to avoid replacement?!

  1. #1
    User

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Likes
    0

    In-hose thermostat to avoid replacement?!

    Hi
    Have '92 1.4 Astra F NZ engine banger which has a stuck open thermo (runs v cool). It's getting cold and heating sucks. Performance prob not helped either. Replacement (in Haynes) seems a big job for an unhealthy novice. How about putting a Renault 5 'in top hose' thermo in as a work-round? It's secured by a jubilee clip! Any likely probs? Opening temp. differences not too much of a problem?
    Strikes horror in the hearts of the purists I know.

    Mr Lazy signing off.

  2. # ADS
    MK3OC Ads

    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    User

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne,south coast
    Posts
    170
    Drives
    300bhp astra gsi turbo:)
    Thanks
    1
    Likes
    0
    depenfd how much toom there is in top hose,youd have no chance in my let,its tiny,but other than that cant see any probs?

  4. #3
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    I dont think it is going to work.
    The thermostat acts like a "tap", when open or closed it regulates the waterflow to the small and large cooling circuit. If you stick a thermostat inline in the hose somewhere, yes, it will open and close according to temp, but it wont change the cooling flow, this will still stay stuck becasue of the broken thermostat still fitted.
    I hope you understand what I mean

    Edit .. I believe your thermostat sits ported to the front of the engine. A thermostat change in this case takes 5 minutes.
    All you need is a new thermostat + gasket, a container to catch overflow fluid, and some coolant to put back in afterwards. Tools needed, 1 flat screwdriver to remove the jubilee clip on the hose, and an 8mm (or 10mm?) socket. Thats it

    Last edited by Lefthooker; 12-11-2008 at 09:04 AM.

  5. #4
    User
    danh's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    8,114
    Drives
    1.8 Mk4 Coupe
    Thanks
    110
    Likes
    2
    what left hooker said is all very true but just to throw the spanner in the works,
    iirc to remove the thermostat are you not supposed to remove the cambelt cover to gain access to the bolts holding it in place ?

  6. #5
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    Danh ,, i edited my post

    There are 2 types of Thermostat housing .. the one under the cam belt cover is usually found in elder C12NZ engines ,,, for some reason, the 14NZs seem to be ported to the front

  7. #6
    User
    danh's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    8,114
    Drives
    1.8 Mk4 Coupe
    Thanks
    110
    Likes
    2
    ill shut up then lol

  8. #7
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by danh View Post
    ill shut up then lol
    no no .. You were right in bringing this up, , you were just quicker than my edit

  9. #8
    User

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Likes
    0

    But Haynes says thermo is behind cambelt!

    Thanks Guys
    Haynes 91-96 definitely says Mk3 C14NZ (SOHC) thermo is behind cambelt requiring removal of all sorts to get at it. Is the German model different perhaps? That's why I shied away from the job and came up with this jolly good wheeze (or so I thought!). Is Haynes wrong about this then? I shall check under the bonnet but I'm not sure I'd recognise a thermo stuck on elsewhere.
    As for mucking up the flow - current thermo is stuck open so just stopping it getting to the rad until hotter is worthwhile, tho not perfect?

  10. #9
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    hmm, take a peek uunder the bonnet ,, if you see the thermostat sticking out the front your in business. If you dont see the bit i marked on the pic, then it is under the cam belt cover

  11. #10
    User
    Aber-Astra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Aberystwyth
    Posts
    1,414
    Drives
    Seat Cordoba GTi
    Thanks
    26
    Likes
    0
    well my bay looks like the one in the picture yet i had to remove all the cambelt to change my thermostat still


    EDIT: my engine is C14NZ and the stat is in the side of the block, what you have marked is only the housing
    Last edited by Aber-Astra; 12-11-2008 at 04:04 PM.

  12. #11
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    not ported out to the front ... seems to be a bit of a play lucky game with this.

  13. #12
    User
    Aber-Astra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Aberystwyth
    Posts
    1,414
    Drives
    Seat Cordoba GTi
    Thanks
    26
    Likes
    0
    well from what i understand there are 2 types of thermostat that are postioned differently, the one you're referring to is supposed to be real easy to change, unfortunately i have only had this one to deal with.

    could it possibly have been on the older ph1 Astras? as i think mine is still in the changeover period

  14. #13
    User

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Likes
    0
    Hope this helps



  15. #14
    User

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Likes
    0
    Ta again guys - all helpful about what is a crazy (but nevertheless, cunning) plan. (Not my own - gleaned from Preloved - the cheapskates paradise).
    I do think my car is the 'difficult to get at' type of thermo. (Brad - the pic is of that type I presume as cambelt removed?).
    So, if I can physically get it in, there should be no major problem with the 'in-top-hose' Renault 5 one? Just a bit concerned that the block will overheat. I'm desperate to combat hypothermia though.

  16. #15
    User

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Likes
    0
    Cambelt removed and back plate (rear cover). Where the thermostat housing is located you really dont want it leaking.

  17. #16
    User
    Lefthooker's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,889
    Drives
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    Thanks
    268
    Likes
    0
    Brad ,, nice pic ,, thats the difficult one to change. Then there is the housing where the thermostat sits on the front of the housing (where the pipe goes on ) and they are changed in 5 mins

  18. #17
    User
    jasovanooo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    267
    Drives
    Astra mk3 cdx estate
    Thanks
    3
    Likes
    0
    can you slide it out with the timing belt on?

    i fso looks relatively easy imo
    Ceramic Blue Appreciation Club

  19. #18
    User

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Likes
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jasovanooo View Post
    can you slide it out with the timing belt on?

    i fso looks relatively easy imo
    The 2 bolts are hidden behind the backplate. Its gotta come off.


  20. #19
    User
    jasovanooo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    267
    Drives
    Astra mk3 cdx estate
    Thanks
    3
    Likes
    0
    gash design man
    Ceramic Blue Appreciation Club

  21. #20
    16VSport
    Guest
    Not ideal, just bike the bullet and whip the belt off though, takes about 2 hours all in.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •