Want to remove ads? Become a MK3OC Club Member today!

ABS - Very Annoying ABS Light

Best answers
Reaction score
Hello, after almost four years of ownership and overseeing a mini-restoration on it, my 1994 Astra has blotted its copybook. Please can anyone offer any advice on my ABS issue as I have hit a brick wall with this. I am not a mechanic, just an enthusiast, so this issue has already cost me a shedload.

When I bought the car, the ABS warning light came on and extinguished as it should, and never ever popped on when it should not. Then after last winter, having been stored in the garage for about four months. When I connected up the battery and started the car, the ABS light came on as it should, but failed to extinguish. I put this down to a low voltage gremlin triggering the light. But with the battery fully charged, as I was sure it was, the ABS light came on and stayed on every time I drove the car.

Being pre-OBD2 my village mechanic did some resistance testing and found the reading on the OSR sensor was very different to the others. So he fitted a new Quinton Hazell branded rear wheel bearing hub unit with ABS sensor. I was thrilled as he phoned to say it had worked. However he had not bothered to test drive the car, so while the ABS light extinguished on start up, leading me to think he had truly fixed it, before I got home ( a 3 minute journey) the ABS light had pinged on again.

As parts are, thankfully, cheap, I have since had both toothed front reluctor rings replaced, two new front ABS sensors and a new NSR wheel bearing hub/ABS unit - so that is all four ABS sensors replaced with brand new parts

My mechanic has been very reasonable in what he has charged me fitting these parts (he is also an MoT tester so I am confident he is thorough in his approach), as the fault still persists, but I sense he is at the limit of what he wants to investigate on my poor Astra and is sick to the back teeth of it!