Dismiss Notice
Welcome to MK3OC. If you have any problems with registration or logging in please visit the HelpDesk

Front suspension top mounts

Discussion in 'Mechanical & Electrical' started by CHIPPYB, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. CHIPPYB

    CHIPPYB

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    manchester
    Car:
    Astra gsi
    Evenin all - I need to change the front suspension strut top mount on my mk3 GSI (1997 phase 2) and was wonderin if it was possible to do this without undoing the bottom of of strut from the hub / steering etc as looks a right pain in the rs. I have got spring compressors etc to use so wanted to know if anybody has done this by undoing the top of the strut from the car then jacking up the front end to allow anuff clearance to swap over.

    Cheers
     
  2. Sportstr@

    Sportstr@

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheppy/kent
    Car:
    RED mk3 2.0 sport ecotec
    Urm.......no not realy mate as you need the whole unit away from car to cary this out
     
  3. Alex

    Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    30,683
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Northants
    Car:
    Astra
    Not really as it won't drop below the height of the wing so space would be non-existant by the time you've got the spring compressers on
     
  4. Joicey

    Joicey

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spennymoor
    Car:
    "K" plate Astra GSI 16v
    i took the strut off when i did mine, as alex said very limited space to do it within the arch
     
  5. CHIPPYB

    CHIPPYB

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    manchester
    Car:
    Astra gsi
    Ok cheers - Have to get my wooly jumper on and get to work
     
  6. Sportstr@

    Sportstr@

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheppy/kent
    Car:
    RED mk3 2.0 sport ecotec
    Wooly jumper....you need waiders down my way and a ledge abbout a foot tall :lol: half my road is flooded!
     
  7. Mark T

    Mark T

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Car:
    Astra G 1.8 CDX Estate, Astra G 1.6 LPG Elegance Estate, Zafira Design CDTI 120
  8. Lefthooker

    Lefthooker

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Car:
    Astra F GSI - C20NE
    I have yet to see this being done without removing. But to be honest, taking a strut out is not really all that difficult.
     
  9. tintin

    tintin

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Coast
    Car:
    No longer the Phoenix
    Doodle, did both of mine yesterday. Deffo strut out.
     
  10. scooby

    scooby Western Co'Ordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, Midlands
    Car:
    Astra GSi P2 V6, Supra TT, Vectra
    Ive done them with the strut on before but its more fiddley so time wise your no better off. Just take the strut off and do them
     

Share This Page