Dismiss Notice
Welcome to the new forums. You can log in using your existing username and password. If you have any problems please drop us an e-mail at admin@mk3oc.com.

Radio Removal Blaupunkt Car 300?

Discussion in 'ICE & Security' started by kevinsmbuk, Sep 24, 2006.

  1. kevinsmbuk

    kevinsmbuk

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Car:
    MK3 ASTRA 1.6 ARTIC
    Hi i have just got an astra mk3 1.6 R reg, and i want to rip out that old blaupunkt car 300 stereo, it has the display above the stereo, but iam having great difficulty getting the thing out!

    I have standard radio release keys (ones you get from halfrauds for a fiver) and i have used an allen key to release the 4 screw's on the fascia, but now i stick the keys in and try and remove the HU its doesnt come out, im really forcing it!

    Any ideas, any special techniques or am i doing something wrong???!?!

    Any help much appreciated guys.
     
  2. StevieMk3

    StevieMk3

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barnet, Herts
    Car:
    The Budget Astra
    The display bit thats above it is the MFD u dont need to remove that to remove the standard HU
     
  3. Neo_Daz

    Neo_Daz

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    MK4 Golf
    You bought the right keys?

    When the keys go in , they hook onto the metal case , sounds like the wrong keys
     
  4. Alex

    Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    30,683
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Northants
    Car:
    Astra
    You definately completely removed all 4 grub screws for the old stereo?
     
  5. Neo_Daz

    Neo_Daz

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Car:
    MK4 Golf
    The keys (IIRC) have a hook that points to the side , are you putting them in the right way >?
     
  6. kkuk

    kkuk

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BLACKBURN
    Car:
    ASTRA GSI
    When You Put The Keys In Push Them Outwards And Then Pull Them
     
  7. Rich

    Rich

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Car:
    Vectra SRi 130 DTi

    If its just an old tape player and you dont really care about it, then push the keys in as far as they will go, then put your fingers in the tape hole and pull from there.
     
  8. Guderian

    Guderian

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    mk3 astra, mk2 cav
    that is what i did-- the tools kept slipping, so stuck me finger in the cassette hole and pulled there at the same time. easier with 2 people.
     
  9. kevinsmbuk

    kevinsmbuk

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Car:
    MK3 ASTRA 1.6 ARTIC
    got it all sorted now guys its all in, it was just a case of really tugging proper hard to get it out, nearly smacked me when it come out! i think thats probably because you are ment to take the glovebox out first then remove the wiring loom from the hu first then pull lol.

    only one thing, i keep losing my equaliser settings each time i turn off the ignition, best to buy and iso adapter for that yeah?

    I see they have em on ebay for like £6!! may aswell give that a crack ehh!
     
  10. prisky

    prisky

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Car:
    1.6 16v GLS
    you losing your presets (radio) as well?
    i couldnt get mine out either but a hammer and pair of pliers did the job lol, you should see the state of it now:heh:
     
  11. kevinsmbuk

    kevinsmbuk

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Car:
    MK3 ASTRA 1.6 ARTIC
    not sure if im losing all my presets, but all that would come under the permanent live (yellow) that goes to the headunit, just wondering really if buying an iso adaptor would change over the wiring order of power to enable the headunit to restore a perm live through the vehicles wiring loom.
     
  12. prisky

    prisky

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Car:
    1.6 16v GLS
    to be honest im really not sure if that would help, thats what i was going to say (make sure the permanent live is wired up :sorry:
    but a free bump, and im sure some one will know
     

Share This Page