Want to remove ads? Become a MK3OC Club Member today!

Astra gsi c25xe conversion

Reaction score
Right Im pretty new to engine conversions and could do with a few words of wisdom.
I have an astra with a V6 lump in it at the moment, a few things are worrying me about it...
1) strong smell of petrol when the engine is running, particulaly when the fans are on the highest setting. It has a fuel pump out of a cav or a calibra.. maybe this is linked?

2)The breaks.. I would prefer beefer breaks cuz the back end swings when breaking from 50+mph. But is it worth sticking some 5 stud hubs on while im at it?

3)suspension. The ride hight is VERY low, and the ride is back breaking. eventhough it sticks round corners i really dont think its worth scraping the exaust on EVERY SINGLE SPEED BUMP ( and my drive way) Anyone sugest reasonable springs?

The car is currently off the road because my mate is fitting a new front manifold, the old one was cracked and the previous owner decided to weld it.. didnt look too tidy. My mate who doing the work thinks I should get rid as soon as its back on the road, but i think it could be a good project.

He reckons if im keeping it I should be lookin at F25 gearboxes aswel..

All comments/suggestions would be greatfully appreciated.

Reaction score
Picture of the car in question

Reaction score
oh you bought it off ebay then did you
it needs a fair bit of work apparantly

Reaction score
nah friend of a friend, but its been thrown together and rushed, shame really

Reaction score
if not its identical in every way even down to the engine conversion and poor brakes

Reaction score
it could be made good though with a little time and effort

Reaction score
Its never been sold on ebay. Its always stayed local. What your trying to get at is that its a pile of screws.. i know that.

Reaction score
must be an identical car out there with similar faults then
if i remember correctly it was for sale on ebay in the chester area