changing a diesel to petrol?

TAZ

Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
isle of lewis
just wondering wats involved in this?
its a 1.7 diesel at the moment!

i no fuel tank/pump will have to be changed!

anything else?,ive got 2.0 16v engine/box/loom/ecu etc...

any help apreciated!
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
333
Reaction score
0
Location
Folkestone, kent
iirc. to swap from petrol to diesel..depending on what diesel engine you currently have, youll need to swap the hubs, if its the 1.7GM lump you will have to, the 1.7isuzu lump you wont.

also, the shafts should fit fine if you have a isuzu lump, as its big block. only things left is as you said, the tank and pump, ive also been told you may need to change the fuel lines? but im not sure on that,

Cheers
 

TAZ

Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
isle of lewis
cheers for that!,i dnt no wat diesel engine is in it:doh:

its an s reg!i think its one of the last mk3s?i think!
could be wrong!


cheers again for the quick reply!:beer:
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2009
Messages
4,278
Reaction score
10
Location
Oswestry, Shropshire
This is the Isuzu engine


You may need to change the dash loom as well, or at least the clocks. Diesel's pick up the feed for the rev counter from the alternator. however If you are changing the engine loom as well, there might not be such a problem
 

TAZ

Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
isle of lewis
it must be the gm engine then,thanks 4 t pic/reply!

yeh im planning on changing loom/engine/box and tank/pump and maybe lines aswell im still unsure about the lines if i have to change them or not?
also the engine im putting in is out of a cavy wat shafts could i use?
engine is ecotec

any ideas any1? thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 6, 2009
Messages
4,278
Reaction score
10
Location
Oswestry, Shropshire
dont forget you might need the mounts as well, not sure if the Cav ones fit. You could try the cav shafts, but if you can get the Astra ones, I'd use them just to make sure. What box do you have to fit? presume its an F18?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
10,276
Reaction score
49
Location
Swindon
you'll need to do the mounts i believe, and the fuel lines, and the clocks and as far as shafts are concerned you need shafts from an isuzu td astra or any other 1.8 or 2.0 astra as they are all big block
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
192
Reaction score
0
Location
Llangefni, Anglesey, North Wales
This is the Isuzu engine


You may need to change the dash loom as well, or at least the clocks. Diesel's pick up the feed for the rev counter from the alternator. however If you are changing the engine loom as well, there might not be such a problem
It is also worth noting that is the earlier isuzu engine. The later ones were different. only difference is instead of TURBO in red it says DIESEL in black but with the same font/style and also has the same lines going through it.
.
 

TAZ

Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
isle of lewis
thanks for that! yeh its an f18 box

yeh sure ile try t shafts and if they dnt fit ile source sum thanks again for the info guys!

real help,now i know wat to look for cheers guys
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
10,276
Reaction score
49
Location
Swindon
It is also worth noting that is the earlier isuzu engine. The later ones were different. only difference is instead of TURBO in red it says DIESEL in black but with the same font/style and also has the same lines going through it.
.
yes thats the non turbo isuzu diesel engine
 

TAZ

Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
isle of lewis
ok thanks ile have a look tomorow as i just bought the car totaly standerd at the moment,white 3dr!,gna be a gsi rep!:nod:

yeh im going to change the lines now so ile do the filter at the same time,cheers
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
10,276
Reaction score
49
Location
Swindon
the fuel filter on diesels is in the bay whereas its down by the tank on petrol models
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top