Want to remove ads? Become a MK3OC Club Member today!

Dizi caps and Rotor arms

Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
Location
Girvan
Was on fleabay and bagged me a brand new dizi cap for £2. I couldn't find matchin rotor tho. Does a red cap need a red rotor. The rotors are all black 1s but say there for my car. Would it make any difference if i had red cap and black rotor
:redface:
 

jono_astra

East Midlands Regional Co-ordinator
Club Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
4,699
Reaction score
77
Location
nt
you can get red rotors for them, i would personally use the matched one. there is slight differences in the caps. i think mainly its the ht lead pin sizes and they might be a slight difference in cap shape. what colour do you currently have on your car?? stick with the same one and halfords do the rotor arms as well.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
Location
Girvan
Jono its a red cap and red rotor. Currently have power lose probs. Have changed coil and fuel filter. This made no difference, Compression tested the cylinders and seem fine. This is the only things I've not dun yet
 

jono_astra

East Midlands Regional Co-ordinator
Club Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
4,699
Reaction score
77
Location
nt
well match the rotor and the cap up. it could be the lamba sensor, Map sensor , tabetha was sayin to me other day to check the dis modual (located under the coil) that the contacts are clean, also the coolant temp sensor could be faulty etc. What are the syptoms?? are you using excessive fuel? is it missfiring? only when hot or cold?. if the cap and arm was faulty you would more likly get a missfire or backfiring etc.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
350
Reaction score
0
Location
Girvan
Jus seems a bit flat at times. Havin to give it the beans to pull outa junctions etc. The plugs were changed bak in nov wen i got car and gave it a basic service i.e oil and filter air filter and plugs along with a rocker gasket
 

jono_astra

East Midlands Regional Co-ordinator
Club Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
4,699
Reaction score
77
Location
nt
have you tried to alter the ignition timing slightly to get rid of the flat spot??? slightly advance it and try that it worked on mine.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top