Want to remove ads? Become a MK3OC Club Member today!

heatid seat switches in mk3 gsi

Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
509
Reaction score
0
Location
leeds west yorkshire
hi all at mk3oc ive got a mk3 astra gsi and every time i press the heatid seat switches it keeps blowing fuse,s dose any one know why or what it could be as its doing my head in its a 10amp fuse
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Location
West midz
Try a bigger fuse mate or you got a short sum where on the wiring still the fuse should be more amps 4 the heated seats;)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
8,560
Reaction score
0
Location
Redhill Surrey
pretty sure its a 20 amp fuse mate least thats what i used for mine lol
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Location
West midz
Nothing special mate just the standard sports seats, ive got a mate whos got 1 he had same problem with his heated seats im hoping too get the cesaro sports seats there black and in mint condition plus they look like recaros cant moan for 40 pound thought thts door cards an tht
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
2,122
Reaction score
1
Location
Norfolk
Don't EVER replace with a higher fuse rating, than that which is specced, if it is a 20 amp fuse normally fine, but if meant to be 10, which I doubt as heated seats use a lot of current then find the reason for blowing.
Putting too heavy a fuse in can cause fires, but at least it will get warmer!!
tabetha
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Location
West midz
Well if its poppin 10 amp fuses like no problem it must be bigger amped dont fuses pop when they are on a high current an not the right amp size..................
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
509
Reaction score
0
Location
leeds west yorkshire
ok cheers all ill get onto it to moz wen i have spare time ill check every thing and let use know what the cause was but thanks for all the info etc etc
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
2,122
Reaction score
1
Location
Norfolk
Well if its poppin 10 amp fuses like no problem it must be bigger amped dont fuses pop when they are on a high current an not the right amp size..................

Not quite, it may well be in this case, but it could be a short, and then putting in a heavier fuse moves the problem away from the fuse to the newest weakest part(as the fuse is no longer the weakest link), this can result in wires melting insulation etc and fires.
I'm sure in this case it is a heavier fuse rating, as seats do consume a lot of current, but as a rule don't just put in a heavier fuse, fuses should always be kept to the minimum rating you can get away with for safety, as these need to be the weakest link.
I have seen a amp set up in the rear of a civic, that used NO fuses from battery to rear, then a fuseholder with 2 X 3/8" solid bar for fuses!!
tabetha
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Location
West midz
solid bar for fuses?????????

Not quite, it may well be in this case, but it could be a short, and then putting in a heavier fuse moves the problem away from the fuse to the newest weakest part(as the fuse is no longer the weakest link), this can result in wires melting insulation etc and fires.
I'm sure in this case it is a heavier fuse rating, as seats do consume a lot of current, but as a rule don't just put in a heavier fuse, fuses should always be kept to the minimum rating you can get away with for safety, as these need to be the weakest link.
I have seen a amp set up in the rear of a civic, that used NO fuses from battery to rear, then a fuseholder with 2 X 3/8" solid bar for fuses!!
tabetha

Talk about keeping warm he/she would have a nice fire on there hands if tht went up!!!!!doh
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top