Want to remove ads? Become a MK3OC Club Member today!

MK3 Stereo Radio Problem

Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Location
London
hi guys so I have a mk3 astra with its original grundig sc 303 cassette player.
I have my sony n5100bt which I want to put in the astra, for some odd reason the sony does not seem to work. I was fighting with this problem a couple days now I got so angry I literally cut the car's connectors and decided to do it manually wire by wire.

from sony stereo to astra wires..

black to brown for earth
yellow to red for constant
red to black for ignition

and so on for the speakers..

I still cant get the stereo to turn on, I tried so many times and I checked on forums if its the right wiring I done.. please help me out I'm going crazy..
 

Andy_Mk3

Administrator
Club Staff
Club Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
39,607
Reaction score
744
Location
Lincolnshire
There's no reason why it shouldn't work. Have you checked you're getting power to the connectors still? It's possible you've accidentally blown a fuse while moving things around. Also check the fuse in the back of the radio itself. Failing that I would say it's a faulty radio.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Location
London
yes i bought a new pack of fuses and checked, only one was blown, alarm, but i replaced it and still the stereo wont turn on..
the stereo is fully working i had it in my golf mk4 for a long time.
 

FrostyWaffle

CHECK ENGINE
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,546
Reaction score
199
Location
Belgium
Y'ouch, i really wouldn't cut the ISO connectors.

Have you checked the fuse on the stereo itself? Usually they have a mini fuse slot.
Also check if you get any kind of voltage from the wiring in the car.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Location
London
really dont understant what else could be the issue here.. will double check the fuse in the stereo
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Location
London
if not then i'll take it to halfords guys and see what they say
 
Last edited:

astranaut

North West & North Wales Regional Co-ordinator
Regional Co-Ordinator
Club Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
10,865
Reaction score
198
Location
Colwyn Bay
I'm guessing your horn and hazard lights are working? Had this issue ages ago and they run off the same fuse, which looked good but swapped it anyway and it has been fine since. If they are then find someone who can test for a live feed before you cut the plugs off
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Location
London
it was a stupid fuse in the stereo i cant believe it.. finally fixed the issue and have music in the car. thanks a lot guys.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top